Reflections of Marla

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Anything you can do, I can do better…

Recently, I had a very funny conversation with my boyfriend. Somehow, we began to discuss the differences between men and women.

Colby made the mistake of thinking that there was something he could do that I couldn’t, because he is a man. Marla does not like people assuming she’s weak. “You think that there is something that you can do that I can’t?”

“… umm.” He’s smart and realized that needed to watch his words carefully.

“No, I can’t get an erection, but I can do anything else you can do.” Except drive a tractor, lift anything heaver than sixty pounds, or a full pull-up, but I wasn’t about to admit any of those things.

“You can’t pee standing up.” I could tell he was proud of himself.

“I can… It might get pee all over my leg, but I can do it. What else you got?” There was no way I was going to loose the fight.

Colby paused and I could almost hear him weighing his options. He could start listing off real things that I couldn’t do, but I might react unfavorably and set out to prove that I could. And we both knew that wouldn’t be pretty. “… I guess that’s it.”

“That’s what I thought.” I smiled, feeling like I had won the debate of the century.

Thank God he decided not to challenge me.

I wouldn’t want to have to show him up.

May 2, 2009 Posted by | comedy, I love him | Leave a comment

Settling the Score

I don’t want to continue my complaining from yesterday and I need to start studying for my finals… but I didn’t want to skip out on the Saturday fun. Be sure to check it out.

Saturday 9: Settling the Score1. Do you feel that you have “a score to settle” with anyone?
Honestly, I have a lot of built up anger right now… but I’m not going to go out looking for revenge. I just need to express myself or forgive. I just haven’t decided which one yet.

2. Do you own anything that you think is unbreakable?
I really don’t think so… Everything of mine seems a bit fragile at times.

3. Tell us about a crazy thing you did in high school.
I honestly never did anything too crazy. I was a very good kid.

I once ran twelve miles in one day during cross country season. That seems crazy to me now.

4. Name the one talent of yours that you think is the best.
I’m good at learning things. My memory works amazingly and I’m pretty dang smart. I do my best at school work.

5. Who wins American Idol? (if you don’t watch, tell us about a reality show that you do follow.)
I’m not huge on reality shows… I like watching Project Runway, but it’s almost always re-runs that I watch on Bravo.
Bold
6. What is your favorite movie in black & white?
To Kill a Mockingbird. The book is even better.

7. What is one thing advertised too much on TV?
Condoms. Why do condom advertisements always come up when I’m watching television with my parents. Awkward.

8. What is your current favorite TV drama?
Lost. The story line is finally coming together and I love it- so much.

9. What is your current favorite TV comedy?
I don’t like any comedies that are currently showing. My two favorites include: That 70s Show and Friends.

Happy Saturday guys! I hope you all have exciting, fun weekends that aren’t centered around studying.

May 2, 2009 Posted by | daily, me, Saturday 9 | 3 Comments